Kingwood soccer takes home multiple District 22-6A Awards

The season has officially come to an end for District 22-6A girls soccer teams with Kingwood and Atascocita both falling in the Region III-6A Tournament this past weekend.

Kingwood had the best season of all teams in the district, advancing to its first regional final since the 2010 season.

Pres Holcomb earned the District 22-6A Coach of the Year award after guiding Kingwood to an impressive 29th-straight District Championship this season. Also the deepest playoff run in nine years for the Mustangs.

A key piece for the Mustangs’ success was Catherine Childs, who brought home the District 22-6A MVP Award. Childs finished the season with nine goals and 11 assists.

The District 22-6A Offensive MVP Award went to Kingwood’s Emma Ebert, who had an impressive 33 goals and 16 assists this season.

Other District 22-6A awards went to Pasadena’s Vanessa Cabello (Defensive MVP), Atascocita’s Ainsley Cunningham (Goalkeeper of the Year) and Atascocita’s Victoria Arenivas (Newcomer of the Year).

Below is a full list of the awards and All-District teams.



Coach of the Year

Pres Holcomb – Kingwood

Overall MVP

Catherine Childs – Kingwood 

Offensive MVP

Emma Ebert – Kingwood

Defensive MVP

Vanessa Cabello – Pasadena

Goalkeeper of the Year

Ainsley Cunningham – Atascocita

Newcomer of the Year

Victoria Arenivas – Atascocita

1st Team All-District   2nd Team All-District
Player Gr Pos School   Player Gr Pos School
Ruby Abeja 9 M Humble   Lauren Abler 10 D Kingwood
Alondra Acevedo Dobie   Aylin Bonilla Dobie
Sam Arrollado 12 D Kingwood   Esmeralda Bravo 10 M South Houston
Lillian Burkhardt 9 D Atascocita   Jackie Cardiel 11 D Memorial
Vanessa Cabello 12 D Pasadena   Mikayla Carlos 11 G Kingwood
Victoria Chu Dobie   Mia Davis 11 M Memorial
Paola Colon 10 F Summer Creek   Jenelle Dumais 10 M Kingwood
Trista Cook 10 M Atascocita   Julissa Gonzalez 11 M Sam Rayburn
Cristina Cordova 10 M South Houston   Karla H Luz Rodriguez 7 M Humble
Alex Dumais 11 M Kingwood   Cadyn Hulse 10 M Kingwood
Jasmine Facundo 11 D Memorial   Emma Keiser 12 F Atascocita
Julissa Farias 11 M Memorial   Maria LeCense 11 F Atascocita
Noely Garcia 11 F Summer Creek   Kiana Marshall 9 Summer Creek
Abby Gutierrez 11 GK Memorial   Ashley Martinez 11 D Pasadena
Brianna Hoffman 9 M Atascocita   Emma Martinez 12 M Summer Creek
Maria Marroquin-Lemus 12 D Pasadena   Madison Melvin 11 GK Atascocita
Samantha Mata 10 M Sam Rayburn   Erin Peters 12 D Atascocita
Taiya Mitchell Dobie   Nia Rampersad 12 F Atascocita
Savannah Moore 10 F Kingwood   MaKenzie Rankins Dobie
Nia Musquiz 9 F Atascocita   Halli Roe 11 D Atascocita
Mystique Ortega Dobie   Astrid Romo 12 M Pasadena
Haylli Roe 11 D Atascocita   Sharis Ruiz 11 D Memorial
Sarah Schumacher 12 D Kingwood   Isabel Shanahan 12 F Kingwood
Elle Smith 9 F Kingwood   Emily Solis Dobie
Lilly Van Meter 10 D Kingwood   Marina Vasquez Dobie


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *